Skip to content

Washington ANG satays

24 March 2014

Washington ANG satays

47° 07′ 21″ N / 122° 30′ 20″ W

McDonnell Douglas F-4 Phantom II (L) and General Dynamics F-16 Fighting Falcon (R) at the Western Air Defense Sector HQ of the Washington Air National Guard — photo by Joseph May

McDonnell Douglas F-4 Phantom II (L) and General Dynamics F-16 Fighting Falcon (R) at the Western Air Defense Sector HQ of the Washington Air National Guard — photo by Joseph May

This aircraft exhibit lies on the grounds of the Washington Air National Guard Western Air Defense Sector Headquarters on Joint Base Lewis-McChord near Tacoma WA. 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 24 March 2014 13:00

    Hey, Young Man!!
    Must confess, I have looked EVERYWHERE and I still do not know what satay means!! I have looked (literally) everywhere TWICE!!!… lol!!..
    (The ONLY thing I’ve found dictionary-wise is:
    SATAY (/ˈsæteɪ/, /ˈsɑːteɪ/ sah-tay), or sate, is a dish of seasoned, skewered and grilled meat, served with a sauce.[1] Satay may consist of diced or sliced chicken, goat, mutton, beef, pork, fish, other meats, or tofu; the more authentic version uses skewers from the midrib of the coconut palm frond, although bamboo skewers are often used. These are grilled or barbecued over a wood or charcoal fire, then served with various spicy seasonings.

    Help me out here!! 🙂

    Thanks!
    David

    • travelforaircraft permalink*
      24 March 2014 20:15

      Hi David,

      This is fun and thanks for figuring it out — and you did! Satay is the Thai term for cooking food on a skewer, the satay. Instead of saying plane-on-a-pole, or airplane-on-a-stick, I prefer to use satay such as F-4 satay 😉 Hope you have a chuckle over it 🙂 Joe

  2. 25 March 2014 10:32

    Got it! thanks!! I kept looking at the word all that came to mind was “cooking”!! I like your ‘variation on the theme!” lol…..and I definitely like creativity!…

    • travelforaircraft permalink*
      25 March 2014 15:08

      Thanks 😉 I’m happy you enjoy the word play. I keep a map going and, being lazy, I tired of repeatedly writing “plane on a stick” then came across “satay” somehow and it appealed to me since it is so much less to write as well as being a bit sarcastic 😉

  3. 25 March 2014 10:34

    hit the button too fast! I generally work with ‘puns’…so I’ll have to see if I can match that down the road!

    • travelforaircraft permalink*
      25 March 2014 15:05

      Cool, puns are also cool!

  4. 25 March 2014 10:43

    You obviously “mo of a world traveler than ah is!!! …I’m jealous!! Many think of the F-4 as the ultimate war machine..l.which is was….but the “old artiste” in me still sees the aesthetics / engineering of it!! I have a great friend who rode back seat in many missions over Vietnam whom and was able to convince him that it was ‘sexy” also…..and got a good number of art commissions of it over the years….

    • travelforaircraft permalink*
      25 March 2014 15:06

      The F-4 looked much better once it was off the ground!

  5. 25 March 2014 21:43

    Having done many air shows with our plane ..the Blue Angels today ‘Get your attention”at first liftoff…the Blue Angels of THE F-4 era _really_ GOT YOUR ATTENTION! …like Real thunder!

  6. 31 March 2014 12:01

    Hi, Joe…
    I’ve been reading AIR & SPACE almost from the beginning…and in the last year,I’ve been re-reading them from beginning to see what I missed (and at my age!) didn’t remember if I’d read a particular Story on page 12 of the July 2000 issue and came across an image of what could probably be the LARGEST SATAY thus far!…(that I’ve seen anyway!….A full scale model of the Lockheed Martin X-35, mounted inverted, sitting atop a _96_ ft pylon…used for “radar cross section antenna and maintenance testing” at their measurement facility at their Helendale Measurement facility in CA….they wrote” “the Ultimate in planes-on-poles” 🙂

    • travelforaircraft permalink*
      5 April 2014 07:55

      Cool — I’ll look that article up 🙂 Coincidentally, I ran across a photo of a Connie (sans engines) mounted on three “poles” atop a building in the Everglades. It was an old photo and there was no location information but it sure would be good to get a new photo if it still exists.

Leave a Reply

